My favorite day …every year.

Standard

For those who know me, you may see this title and say…Oh that’s May 24th! … Back story, many many moons ago sitting in 10th grade study hall, I decided that May 24th would be my favorite day. It had nothing to do with holidays or birthdays. On this day, I wear my favorite colors, eat my favorite foods, hang out with my favorite people, and do my favorite things. Over the years it’s evolved into ….a big deal. Everyone who’s anyone celebrates! …..But I’ve digressed….

If I had to pick another favorite day it would be that magical moment in class when all the INPUT…starts to click. I remember experiencing that moment while studying abroad. But even more exciting is seeing your students experience it. It’s so awesome to see them excited to be able to manipulate the language even when grammar has NEVER been taught (exception: pop up grammar).

Today I asked my students…”If I wanted to say, ‘They think that’ how do I change ‘piensa que’.” …several students responded “add an N”. And when they responded…. others caught on. Someone raised their hand and asked “So if I want to say ‘they’ are doing something I add an ‘N’ don’t I!?

Yes Yes Yes!!!!!

Besides seeing my students ‘get it’. I also love this day because it is affirmation that CI works!

…And it works well!

 

Leave a Reply

