2 more weeks!

Standard

Am I the only one who gets secretly excited for the pending school year???

I was planning on staying home with the cutest baby on the planet… but then a part time gig fell into my lap. And thank goodness because 1. I am not cut out to be a SAHM. 2. I love teaching. 3. I needed a hobby where the creative juices could flow!

This year however, I’m in a new district. I am extremely excited that the superintendent is on board with me teaching CI/TPRS. And I can’t wait to meet my students.

After taking over half a year off last year on maternity leave, I’m feeling a bit rusty. Looking forward to jumping back in and exclusively using CI/TPRS.

I love getting to know my students with CI and questioning. One way that I “cheat” to get ideas is using a student questionnaire. Besides asking basic things such as name, age, favorites etc. I include many silly questions such as: “Who is your hero?, If you had a million dollars what would you do?” I find this activity extremely helpful to give me ideas of who and what the kids are into these days.

What are some of your favorite beginning of the year things to do?

Leave a Reply

