I have an addiction…

Standard

My name is Ami …and I have an addiction….to movie talks.

I love them!

Kids love them!

They’re SO engaging!

…and they learn and acquire SO MUCH!

I am constantly astonished how much they can reproduce after frequent structure repetition and circling.

I was on maternity leave for 5 months so in the last 3 months I’ve been trying to squish in as much Comprehensible Input as possible. This week we were reinforcing the words: Pone, Tiene, Lleva, Quiere. We did this through a unit I created based on the youtube video “Carrot Crazy”

I started the unit by pre-teaching some new words such as: Conejo, trampa, zanahoria, suelo, bosque and mochila. Then we circled the story. We reinforced the story daily through circling and supplemental activities I created. One (which perhaps I’ll call…descriptive walk around) students were each given a different picture. They had to walk around the room, find 4 students to describe the picture, and have them sign their paper. It was interesting listening to students give output. Some were extremely impressive. Of course listening to other students provided me with feedback as to which students needed additional scaffolding and which structures I needed added repetition.

All in all…it was a success and gave me warm fuzzy feelings watching my students acquire new structures and phrases!

Screen Shot 2015-05-27 at 4.08.32 PM

Leave a Reply

