‘Piratas’

Standard

Wow- it’s been quite some time since my last post! It turns out ‘growing a human’ is really hard work and can make you really sick and exhausted.  : )

A little over a month ago my Spanish 1’s started reading the novel ‘Piratas del Caribe y Mapa Secreto’ written by Mira Canion & Carol Gaab.

This is my 3rd year reading this with my students and this year I decided to really revamp my approach. I spent endless hours (seriously, easily over 150 hrs) creating an entire unit to go along with this novel.

I started with a ‘pre-assessment’ activity where the students watched a you tube clip of Jake y los piratas. They listened for words, guessed meaning, and identified cognates. I also explained to the students that at the end of the book they would have a project based assessment. To help prepare for this, I gave them a worksheet where after every chapter they identified new characters, summarized the chapter, and made a prediction about the next chapter. This really proved helpful for their final projects.

Screen Shot 2014-02-07 at 8.54.11 AM

I made activities/worksheets to go with every single chapter. These were used to reinforce information, structures, apply it to previously learned knowledge, and relate it to themselves. We also took this opportunity to look at the culture of Cuba and briefly learn about ‘Captain Henry Morgan’. (Which- before this year, I did not realize he was a real historical figure!) This helped make the story come alive!

Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 12.11.31 PM                        Screen Shot 2014-02-07 at 8.52.14 AM

Comparing this year with my previous years, I truly think my students learned and understood the book so much more. AND- they didn’t complain about reading as much this year! Yay! Sounds like success to me!

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Ill have too purchase this for next year when I read it with my kids! It looks like you’ve put a lot of time and thought into these. Your unit pages look awesome! I was wondering what program you used to create them?

    I’ve also had a hard time finding the perfect images to add to my documents that aren’t copywrited. Where do you find yours?

    • Thanks for your comment!
      I used ‘pages’ to create these.(Just got ‘pages’ this year, and I’m addicted to it!)

      And yes- it took me a while to find the images to use as well. Luckily right when I needed it, Martina Bex wrote a great post with tips on finding images online that can be used.

      This was very helpful for me.

Leave a Reply

